Second Nature: The Legacy of Ric Flair and the Rise of Charlotte is the memoir of Ric and Charlotte Flair.

What’s it about? It covers Ric’s career as a wrestler, Charlotte’s life as a child, teenager, and young adult, her journey to becoming a WWE superstar, and her career as a superstar up until her first Women’s Championship reign. That sounds like a lot, but it’s only 374 pages, including the acknowledgements (which are very worth reading) and the front matter.

The Good: It’s an interesting memoir because it’s like two in one because you get both of their lives. It focuses more on Charlotte, which I appreciated because there’s already another Ric Flair biography out there (maybe even more than one). Plus, she’s amazing right now, and it gives the new WWE audience something to read, especially the female audience, which is growing.

Another aspect I liked is that there were occasional footnotes with a contribution from someone involved, including other wrestlers and Charlotte’s best friend. I liked that inclusion of other voices and their thoughts on events.

The best part about this book is that it’s full of love. Love of their careers. Love for each other. Love for the son and brother they lost far too early. Love for family and friends. Seriously, it’s full of it.

The Bad: The “Entering Immortality” chapter sounds like a laundry list of wrestling talent related to Ric’s career. It’s cool to see all that history, and, of course, it’s important to include the people who have meant a lot to you personally and professionally in your memoir. However, I wish it could have been done more organically and smoothly because it wasn’t an exciting section.

The Ugly: There was nothing about the book itself that bothered me, but I do think there were some poor editing choices. One, I saw more mistakes than should be acceptable; it definitely needed a more thorough copy edit. Two, there does come a point where the chapters switch back and forth between the two, but it doesn’t say that they switch. It’s not always clear who is talking until you get a contextual clue. That was annoying, and the chapters should have started with their names after the opening quote as a signal.

Overall: I liked it quite a lot, definitely more than I thought I would.

Who is it for? I don’t know if there are people that like to specifically read the memoir genre, but if you do exist, this one is pretty good. Fans of Ric or Charlotte Flair will definitely be into it. I think general wrestling fans will enjoy it, even if these two aren’t your favorite. Sasha Banks fans would be the exception there though because there are parts you may not like to read about your favorite.

Advertisements