I have completed another novel from my Star Trek collection. I’ve been on a bit of a sci-fi kick. I’m also currently listening to We Are Legion (We Are Bob), which is about a man who wakes up to learn that his cryogenically frozen brain has been turned into AI software. The science seems sketchy there, but I’m still totally on board. The book is highly entertaining so far, and there are more.

As for The Abode of Life, I enjoyed it as well. It had all the good parts of a Star Trek diplomacy mission. I thought the Mercans were interesting because their mentality is something I imagine humans to be like if we discover other sentient species out there. The idea of a race growing up on a planet completely isolated from other stars and planets and how that affected their thought process was very interesting as well. Correy kept up with the differences he created in the species well too. The Mercans have no concept of time, and none of them slipped up and said we’ll me at 2:00 PM. I’ve seen mistakes like that before, and I imagine it’s very hard not to make them. I thought Lee Correy did a good job of sticking to the characters and how they fit into the Star Trek universe. I’m a little sad there don’t seem to be many other Trek books by him, but he does have other sci-fi, which I’m likely to peruse.

I thought about breezing through a couple more Star Trek books, but it turns out my attention span has almost ceased to exist. I’m going to try out 1984 by George Orwell next, which brings me back to the Rory Gilmore List and ticks off another classic I can’t believe I haven’t read yet.

