July was another short reading month for me, which isn’t entirely surprising considering the personal upheaval it entailed. It was, however, a quality reading month.

I started with Divine Secrets of the Ya-ya Sisterhood, which I liked enough to write a full review for. I have passed the book on to my best friend, which is very fitting considering the story.

I moved on to read Truth & Beauty by Ann Patchett, a memoir that is also about friendship. I enjoyed this one just as much as, if not more than, Divine Secrets. It’s a story that is hard not to feel for; we all have a friend that we want to protect no matter, and Patchett shares her version of that story. Beware, a full Ann Patchett obsession post is coming.

In conjunction with the stories I was reading, I listened to The Wonderful Wizard of Oz performed by Anne Hathaway. It was wonderful, and I highly suggest you take a listen. I had never read the story, and I was surprised to find how similar it was to the film. I enjoyed it and plan to read more of the stories.

The Last Days of Night by Graham Moore was phenomenal. It’s historical fiction about the court battles between Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse told from the point of view of Westinghouse’s lawyer. I loved the pace and the writing. It made me want to read more about the history of electrifying the nation. It’s fascinating stuff, but even if you aren’t particularly interested in that, it’s very good law drama.

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress was a fun read, which is strange considering it focuses on two boys sent to a remote village for reeducation during China’s Cultural Revolution. The story focuses on their shenanigans as young boys, but there is also an intensity lurking in the background because most of what they’re doing could get them arrested.

Although not pictured, I also read the short story “Flowers for Algernon” by Daniel Keyes. It was fascinating. I’ve seen this book pop up several times over the years, but I never paid much attention to it. If you’ve done the same thing, I will tell you it’s written as a diary of a man of very low intelligence who is injected with a serum to make him smarter. The diary chases his journey from simpleton to genius. Stellar.

Finally, I read Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I added it to the Rory Gilmore Reading List because Lorelai talks about it (“does Wild“) in A Year in the Life. That depiction of the book made it sound much more compelling to me, and I grabbed it from the library. Talk about rewarding. This book packs an emotional punch, but it’s a good one. I kind of want to buy it because I liked it so much.

All in all, it was an interesting month of journeys both physical and emotional. These books seem to have appeared at the right time. I highly recommend all of them without reserve.

