In an earlier post, I believe I mentioned watching Gilmore Girls. Books are, of course, a major part of the series, and all readers dream of being as well read as Rory. I am a fan of lists, so, naturally, I wanted a list of books mentioned in the series. The internet provides.

I found this nifty PDF version. I had to go through a couple of steps, but it was worth it since it was easy to print and has nifty bubbles to fill in as I finish things. If you are not as oddly particular as me, Buzzfeed also has a list, and ListChallenges has a version you can check digitally just to see how many you’ve read thus far in life.

So, I printed my list and filled in my bubbles. At that point, I had already read 67 of the 339 works on the list. Since that initial count, I have read 15 more. (How do I know which ones I read before and which I have read after the list: color coding). My total is now 82 of 339.

Some things to keep in mind about the list: Short stories, books for children and adults, and poems are included, which is why I cranked some out so quickly. Fahrenheit 9/11 is on there, which is weird because it’s a documentary, but I still plan to watch it just because. Also, the list does not include books mentioned in Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, but I may create another list for that.

Going forward: I will most likely read the majority of the list. It’s introduced me to some great stuff so far, and it can only get better. I won’t read the travel guides though because that will just make me sad I’m too poor to travel. Plus, the versions on the list are very out-of-date now.

I talked about some books in my May and June recaps, and I plan to write individual reviews for a couple of things. Some of the shorter works I’ve read since starting the list are “Howl” by Allen Ginsburg, which was super weird and not at all fun, a couple of the Grimm stories, which are weird but in an enjoyable way, and “Roman Fever” by Edith Wharton, which is now one of my favorite short stories ever because it left me with my jaw on the floor. Talk about surprise endings! I also listened to L. Frank Baum’s The Wizard of Oz as a performed recording by Anne Hathaway. It was freaking delightful. Find it here on Audible if you’re interested.

Overall, I give the list a 10/10. It is a really fun mix of classics, high-brow literature, feel-good reads, kid stuff, and everything in between. If you love the show and want to get a better understanding of Rory’s conversations with others, check the list out. If you haven’t watched it and just want to be a more well-rounded reader, check it out; it might even make you want to watch the show. I assure you the show is worth binge-watching, and the list is worth binge-reading.

