As you saw in a previous post, I started May off with Life After Life. After that, I moved on to my May Book of the Month Club choice, which was The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich.

20170512_184054

I enjoyed The Love Interest immensely. The writing wasn’t the best I have ever read, but it showed promise for this new author. The story is what got me. It was an idea completely different than anything I have read. I liked the main characters a lot, and I honestly hope Cale turns this novel into a series. Another plus is that he was super sweet and responded when I tweeted about his book.

20170711_154530

Next, I put myself through the joyous hell that is another Rick Riordan series. Apollo is probably my favorite narrator of all time. I wish I could build a time machine, so I didn’t have to wait for the next installment in a Riordan series ever again.

I finished out May with Legally Blonde. I learned this year that the beloved film was based on a book (how I never knew this before, I cannot tell you). Of course, I had to get my hands on a copy immediately. The book and the movie are wildly different. So different, I may make a book versus movie post about it. I liked the book. I didn’t think it was as uproariously funny as the blurbs from the cover claimed, but I was chuckling and feeling feelings all the same. This book is actually the first in a series, which was also new information, and I will probably check them out at some point. I don’t feel a rush to do so though.

With only five books in May, I feel a little disappointed in myself, but I also recall that I started Gilmore Girls. So, no one can blame me for getting behind on reading.

 

