While reading the Clockwork series by Cassandra Clare, I was very appreciative of how often literature is discussed and quoted in the novels. I naturally wanted to read some of the books mentioned, so I decided to keep a list of the books in the novel.

Yes, I have created a list of all of the books mentioned in all three Clockwork books (Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess). You’re welcome.

I do not, however, claim the list is complete; I may have missed a mention or two, especially of poetry, but it is damn close. If you noticed any I missed, let me know in the comments, and I’ll add it.

I decided to share it because there is probably at least one other person in the world interested in it. I’m going to list them in the order I saw them and will include interesting tidbits where I see fit. I will also share my experiences with some of these books.

  • Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. This novel is important throughout the entire series and ties Will and Tessa together. I never wanted to give Dickens another shot, but after reading this series, I plan to give this novel a fair try.
  • The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole. This book is necessary reading for anyone interested in Gothic literature. It’s considered the first Gothic novel, and it’s freaking fantastic.
  • The Hidden Hand by E.D.E.N. Southworth. I was assigned this novel in an Early American Literature class, and I am SO happy I was because I would have never heard of it otherwise. More people need to read it.
  • Vathek by William Beckford. The book Will gives Tessa with the cheesy poem written in the front.
  • The Wide, Wide World by Susan Warner.
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I’m always disappointed when heroines or real people reach to this novel for a description of their love story. I hate this book and think its “love story” is grossly unhealthy. I dig the Gothic elements in it, but that’s about it.
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. One of my professors described this book as English major Disneyland. While I agree with that statement because there is a lot of impressive, intellectual stuff happening in this novel, the ending infuriates me and makes me dislike the novel.
  • The Lamplighter by Maria S. Cummins.
  • Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon. I always see this book and am always intrigued, but for some odd reason, I have yet to read it.
  • The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins.
  • The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins.
  • Armadale by Wilkie Collins.
  • Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. My love for Carroll’s work knows no bounds.
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. My favorite book.
  • The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas.
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. The reason I never wanted to give Dickens another chance.
  • Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens. Still not sold on giving this one a chance.
  • Dante’s Inferno. I know this story very well, but I can’t remember if I’ve ever actually sat down and read the whole thing in order.
  • Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott.
  • The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte. Lest you think I hate the whole Bronte family, know that Anne Bronte is MY GIRL. This novel is uh-mazing. I love her novels. This one seems far and away a better example for feminism than Jane Eyre, and I have never understood why she has been pushed aside in favor of her sisters. Seriously, read some Anne.
  • Books found in Will’s room:
    • The Arabian Nights.
    • James Payn’s works.
    • Vicar of Bullhampton by Anthony Trollope.
    • Desperate Remedies by Thomas Hardy.
    • The New Magdalen by Wilkie Collins.
    • The Law and the Lady by Wilkie Collins.
    • The Two Destinies by Wilkie Collins. Those of us that haven’t read Collins are obviously missing something important.
    • Child of the Cavern by Jules Verne. Oddly, I’m not sure I had heard of this work of Verne’s although I’m familiar with his other stories. Good stuff. I’ll definitely read this one.
  • “No Man is an Island” by John Donne. Read Donne’s poetry too. It will break your brain.
  • “Maud” by Alfred, Lord Tennyson.
  • Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray.
  • Hamlet by William Shakespeare. My favorite play.
  • “The Garden of Proserpine” by Algernon Charles Swinburne.
  • Shakespeare suddenly exploded everywhere:
    • Sonnets. Bunch of ’em. Just read them all.
    • Julius Caesar. This play is a lot of fun to watch every time I see it.
    • Romeo and Juliet. Not a fan actually.
  • Author statues in the Lightwood garden (had to mention these due to my love of the classics):
    • Herodotus. Yas!
    • Thucydides.
    • Aristotle. Kind of want him to shut it.
    • Ovid.
    • Homer. One of the greatest wishes of my heart is that we find at least one other epic from his Troy cycle before I die.
    • Virgil.
    • Sophocles.
    • There were other figures, but if they were more political, I left them off the list.
  • Paradise Lost by John Milton. I would have been disappointed if this one didn’t show up in the series since a huge part of it is about how the story of the angels and demons is way more complicated than we all imagined.
  • Confessions of Saint Augustine.
  • Fordyce’s Sermons to Young Women. This book is what Mr. Collins reads to the Bennet girls in Pride and Prejudice, and it comes up in other novels. Just read some of it and you’ll know why the satirists jump all over it.
  • David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
  • The Merry Wives of Windsor by William Shakespeare
  • “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens. Not a terrible short story, but definitely not my favorite. I saw a horrible version of the play once that involved far too much screaming.

You’ll notice I didn’t include the epigraphs from the beginning of each chapter. Those are easy enough to find, and while they are important and should be noticed, I felt the works the characters actually discussed and quoted were more pressing to the story. I might make a separate list of those later, but there is some overlap between the two.

While the list is not perfect, I hope you enjoy it. I might add more comments to the list as I read more of the works. I hope you found something new to check out. Happy reading!

P.S. The spine design on these books is beautiful!!

