Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden was…interesting. Spoilers-ish ahead.

There’s a bad guy who is an opium drug lord who really loves to collect books and ancient manuscripts. He can only be thwarted by a girl who can translate and the guy once kidnapped by the drug lord, who happen to have a thing for each other.

From what I gathered after listening to the whole book, it was created by a Christian author/company, so the story of the main guy being a born-again Christian, which comes off as forced in the novel makes more sense. However, the Christian part of the story is a little awkward and unnecessary; really, it doesn’t add anything to the plot and a bit too much to the page count.

That being said, I did find the book engaging. I wanted desperately to keep listening to find out what happens, and I was invested in the characters’ relationships. The plot overall was highly original (as you can tell from my second paragraph), and I doubt I will come across something like it.

It was an interesting listen that got me through some tedious work, but I’m not sure I’ll return to this author. I won’t run screaming from her books, but I don’t have a burning desire to dive right into her next book either.

