Because I like to look around at the book side of Instagram, I’ve seen that a lot of people are reading Cassandra Clare’s novels, but, also because of Instagram, I didn’t really know why or what the novels were about. The most information I got was that someone loved them enough to put forty emojis in a caption and that they are pretty on a shelf and involve some dashing lad/s. A friend of mine knows that I like fantasy and magic, and she asked if I had read this series. She brought me Clockwork Angel after I told her I hadn’t (incidentally, this same person also brought me Elantris).

This book was goooooooood. It has a nice slow-burning love triangle (not exactly a spoiler. If you don’t see it coming, you’re blind. There are hints from the get go, and it is young adult after all). I actually like how this love triangle is written so far; it isn’t rushed, and the plot device doesn’t seem tired like it usually does.

I think this novel falls under the steampunk fantasy category if I’m not mistaken. I haven’t read any of these before. I liked that machine idea and where the author took it. The basic plot and the time period she chose to pair it with fits perfectly because what the villain decides to do would be a logical thing for him to do, but he wouldn’t have been able to engage in this idea without the emergence of machines (Sometimes it is really hard to write these in a vague enough way. Apologies if that didn’t make any sense).

There are plot twists sprinkled all over this thing. It felt very much like walking through a maze which is ideal for a story. I also feel I haven’t reached the end of said maze which is ideal for a series. Like all good series with plot twists, the book ends on a cliffhanger that makes you want to dive right into the next book, but it isn’t such an intense cliffhanger that you want to scream and throw things (I’m looking at you, Rick Riordan). I will of course continue with the series, and I will likely see what else Clare has to offer in this world because I enjoyed her world building and the way she chooses to play with the supernatural.

Since I have been in fantasy land lately, I will be getting a rather late start on my March pick for Book of the Month Club, which was Exit West by Mohsin Hamid. I am quite excited to read it and know that it will take me to a very different place than Clockwork Angel, but as always, I will go happily where the books take me.

