A little while ago I reviewed Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, which I absolutely loved. (Click the title to check that review out). I liked it so much that I started to look at what else the author had written. Behold! A prequel! The focus of the prequel is on Penumbra (shocking, I know).

I usually like prequels. I know some people don’t like them because they think stories should be left alone. I, on the other hand, am one who will always be happy for stories I love to continue.

This prequel in particular was very good because it explained the origin of the bookstore and how Penumbra got involved in the –secret! spoilers bad–. My only complaint is that it was a little short. A novella or full-length book would have been great!

I liked meeting the different characters, and there were some good name drops that hinted at the other book. It was an interesting story in itself, and it had some great twists that I couldn’t figure out. I loved the blend of emerging technology with book history.

I really enjoyed this book, and I will definitely be reading it and the original again. Of course, Robin Sloan’s writing was made even better by the reading done by Ari Fliakos.

