Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore was one of the most original stories I have read in a long time, and probably ever. I listened to it on Audible, and I highly recommend the audiobook because Ari Fliakos did a great job reading it. The book was mysterious and funny. I became very invested in the two main characters and the adventure they were on. 

The book explored how emerging technology can work with the old technology of books rather than against it in a way I really appreciated. So many people think we must choose print books or ereader. Technology or books. That is just silly. A healthy middle ground, like with almost everything in life, works beautifully. The book really doesn’t shove either opinion in your face, which is what makes me appreciate it so much.

Why is the book mysterious? Well, a man wanders into a shop and is offered a job by the quirky owner. After he starts the job, he notices strange people enter the bookstore regularly, and he’s given an odd task concerning these people. And then…

You should read the book. It’s delightful. I’ve kept it to listen to again and bought another audiobook by Sloan about Mr. Penumbra. I can’t wait to see what else this author has to offer!

