If you don’t love The Princess Bride, you’re wrong. Now that that’s out of the way…

For the past few days, I’ve been listening to As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes narrated by Cary, Christopher Guest, Carol Kane, Norman Lear, Rob Reiner, Wallace Shawn, Robin Wright, and Billy Crystal. It was an absolutely delightful way to spend my commute.

The story of how the movie came to be and the life it created for itself afterwards was amazing; I really love knowing how things work and come together. “Making of” stories will grab my attention every time; keeping it is another story. This book did not disappoint in keeping my attention. The story of how the movie got made is so interesting because it actually took a lot for it to get made in the first place. The stories from set were hilarious, and I now understand how the movie ended up being as amazing as it is. Listening to Cary’s stories was so interesting that I found myself wishing the other cast members would also write books about their individual experiences on set.

The other thing that really struck me was the obvious love the cast and crew have for each other. The book was oozing with respect and love for everyone, and it was incredibly heartwarming. I couldn’t be in a bad mood after listening to the stories about their friendships. It was actually impossible.

The book, of course, put me in the mood to watch the movie, which will definitely happen in the next few days. It also made me want to revisit the novel The Princess Bride. I tried reading it several years ago because I loved the movie so much, but I couldn’t get into it at all. I am inspired to give it another shot and will hunt a copy down quite soon.

If you’re looking for something to listen to, I highly recommend As You Wish.

