My last post was just an expression of appreciation for This Book is Overdue!: How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All by Marilyn Johnson. I have now completed the book a few weeks ahead of my class schedule because I genuinely enjoyed it and decided to just finish it. I’ve been reading it as my professor assigned the chapters, so I read it out of order in context of whatever we were discussing for the week. While this order was interesting, I wish I had read it cover to cover in one or two sittings. It reads like a story, and I think Johnson created a clear progression that I missed some of the nuances of. In any case, it was really entertaining. I learned some new things about the profession I’m going into. I found a wealth of new resources to explore, including Johnson’s other book The Dead Beat: Lost Souls, Lucky Stiffs, and the Perverse Pleasures of Obituaries. Johnson is certainly a unique writer, and she packed a lot of humor and enthusiasm into her book.

I’m having a love-hate relationship with my other textbooks. Cassell and Hiremath’s Reference and Information Services is straightforward and informative, but I feel like individual chapters on encyclopedias, databases, and dictionaries were unnecessary. Most of each of these chapters was dedicated to explaining specific resources, which doesn’t seem appropriate for a textbook; that information would fit better in reviews or catalogs for librarians to look at when deciding what to purchase for their library. Bawden and Robinson’s Introduction to Information Science is blessedly simple, and I highly recommend it for anyone interested in the subject. There are two textbooks from my other class that I’ve barely gotten to know, and I’m very unhappy that I was told to buy them since we’re not even reading the majority of the text.

Now for something completely different… I like to read the Bible and a devotional in the morning when I wake up. It’s basically the most chill way ever to start the day if you were looking for something to start your morning. I’m working on a go through the Bible chronologically in 365 days plan, and it’s really cool. Things that I know/have a vague idea of are coming together, and I’m learning new things. The devotional I have is A Jane Austen Devotional, and, yes, it is definitely as awesome as it sounds. It takes a scene from a Jane Austen novel and combines it with a lesson sprinkled with Bible verses to teach you how to be an awesome and loving human being. I have a terrible habit of compartmentalizing everything, and this devotional is helping me bridge the gap between different parts of my life. I highly recommend it if you are in the market for some fun Bible study material whether you want to go through it alone or with a group of people.

Fiction wise, I’m still moving through The Mysteries of Udolpho. When I do have time to read it, I’ve actually not been reading as much as I can. I feel like I’m in a relationship with this book, and I don’t want to break up with it. I’m afraid to get to the end because it’s so engulfing, but I can’t enjoy being engulfed by it because that would bring me to the end. It’s a vicious cycle, and I love it.

 

 

