I said my next post would be about fiction, but I lied. I haven’t had time to return to The Mysteries of Udolpho, and it’s breaking my heart.

I’m reading some chapters from Marilyn Johnson’s This Book Is Overdue!: How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All. First of all, there is a superhero librarian on the cover, so it was one of my favorite books before I even opened it. Second, it is pretty darn entertaining. I am, funnily enough, reading the chapter entitled “The Blog People,” which is all about the corner of the internet populated by librarian bloggers.

Johnson obviously had fun with this book, and it makes me have fun with it. She has funny little comments dropped in everywhere:

“Someday, I will stop being surprised at all the things librarians read; they’ll read anything.”

“Yes, librarians used punctuation marks to make little emoticons, smiley and frowny faces in their correspondence, but if there were one for an ironic wink, or a sarcastic lip curl, they’d wear it out.” 100% factual.

In this chapter, she talks about how librarians rarely reveal anything about their personal lives or their opinions on patrons/coworkers at their jobs. However, the blogging world allowed librarians to break out of their shells; they can now express opinions and release all of their sass on the world (there is A LOT of sass). All of this makes perfect sense; librarianship is a kind of customer service. Librarians genuinely love their patrons, but sometimes weird things happen to you, which you really want to talk about. Blogs are the perfect place to share with the community, and because internet the whole world, all of the strangeness that comes along with the profession. It’s highly entertaining, and I’m wondering if there are similar professions that found a niche in the blog world to release their collective sass.

