I loved it. I don’t know why so many people are upset about it.

I’ve seen so many complaints. Here were the most common and most annoying to me.

“Hermione can’t become Minister for Magic without Ron? Psh, she deserves better, and the writers are sexist.” Nope. They were showing how bad everyone’s lives would be if things were changed. In case you didn’t notice, all of their lives failed. I would also like to point out that those changes stuck with the main theme of the Potter novels: love conquers all and makes us the best version of ourselves.

“Sweet Hufflepuff Cedric Diggory deserves better than becoming a Death Eater.” I forgot that only Slytherins dressed in all black all the time can become Death Eaters. Forgive me.

And perhaps the biggest one… “Albus and Scorpius are clearly soul mates! How are they not together?!” Perhaps because they’re FOURTEEN YEARS OLD and just spent the play figuring out a billion daddy issues. Calm down, people. Not every story must end with people declaring their undying love for each other, especially when they’re children just beginning to figure out who they are.

Now for my thoughts…

I didn’t love the portrayal of Ron, but I can’t say that it was wrong. All of the adults were fairly flat and hanging out in the background, but they should have been because the story wasn’t about them. I probably would be more comfortable with their flatness seeing the play staged (as it is supposed to be) because the flatness is more normal on stage than in written works.

Harry was angry, and I think that made a lot of sense. He went through so much. I’m not surprised at all that he’s kinda paranoid and has an angry streak. However, I sort of thought he would be presented as a benevolent, happy-go-lucky dad, but I was pleasantly surprised that he was actually human.

I freaking loved Albus and Scorpius as individuals and as partners in time crime. They were funny and appropriately adolescent. Plus the sass. Oh, the sass.

“How to distract Scorpius from difficult emotional issues. Take him to the library.”

“The hedges want to kill us too? This gets better and better.”

I read the play in one sitting, and I was thoroughly entertained throughout. I thought it was a pleasant send-off for the series, and I will read it many more times.

Don’t go in with too many expectations. That never works out. The story might not be for everybody, but it definitely worked for me.

