Reading The Last American Vampire got me on a vampire kick. I dug around my Kindle for a book and found this one. I couldn’t remember why I downloaded it besides that it was free. My obsessive brain was like “YEA VAMPIRE TIME. LET’S DO THIS!” So here we are.

A Shade of Vampires by Bella Forrest was pretty darn good. At first, I was going to give up on it because it seemed like it was going the high school vampire love triangle route (barf), and then a vampire shows up and stabs the girl in the neck with a needle and kidnaps her to take her to vampire community. That certainly grabbed my attention and made me jump right in.

The book is much more complex than it seems at first. This book was fun to read and had some frightening moments as any monster book should. Some parts are a little hard to read, but it’s not overwhelmingly gory or anything. Unlike so many other vampire stories, this one isn’t all about sex. In fact, it doesn’t even happen (yay for a heroine who doesn’t jump right in just because he’s smoking hot and dangerous). Sexual tension, yes. Molestation too. But nowhere was I subjected to 3 pages of people’s bodies squishing together with terrible adjectives.

Of course, it ends on a cliffhanger, and I’m really interested to see what happens next. I knew there were sequels, and I was thinking “sweet!” Then I saw that this is actually a 29 book series, and I now have to decide if I’m ready for that commitment. Let’s be honest though I’m too curious and obsessive and probably will.

