The title of this post is not a book title, but I think it should be. I would read that.

Anywhozles, I ran out of data and couldn’t post anymore while I was in Ohio, and then I got so used to no internet that I didn’t want to get on the computer when I got home. I skipped the last two Top Ten Tuesdays to conserve data and because they were top ten lists of books being published or already published this year, and I don’t make it a point to read newly published books. Rarely do I even look at the year something was published unless I think it’s really old. Stories are stories, and I don’t like basing my reading list on what’s new and/or bestselling. I have a lazy approach and just pick stuff that looks interesting or is written by an author I recognize.

But here I am again to tell you about the three books I read since I last wrote.

20160620_081704.jpgI found The Man in the Ceiling at the library sale, and I picked it up because the interesting cover art. Yep. Judged a book by its cover. Like the cover, the book was imaginative and full of childlike ideas. The book digs into the mindset of a child. It was a fun read because you watch the main character grow as his talent as an artist does. It’s easy to read in one sitting, and it packs a lot of emotion into a small amount of space. I think it would be a good book for someone at any age, and it would be an interesting book for family reading because it would be a great discussion starter.

2016-06-28-14.04.40.jpg.jpgStation Eleven was freaking amazing! I actually added this to my list because I knew it had something to do with Shakespeare without knowing anything else about it. I had no idea what was coming, and I highly suggest that’s how you read this book. The story sneaks up on you, and Mandel hints at what’s happening before actually letting it out. The story is super focused and surprising in all the right places.

A Fall of Moondust was good. It really creeped me out though, so I probably won’t read it again. The premise of the story is based on one of my biggest fears, so no surprise that it creeped me out so hard. That being said, I was riveted! The story was simple, but interesting. The premise is scary, but Clarke tells it in a calm, lighthearted manner. He draws awesome parallels between Westerns and space exploration.

61HPbu54gsL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_

On the way home, I listened to The Constant Princess, which was about Katherine of Aragon. It was a nice book to listen to, and I thought it was an original take on her life. It was a fun listen, but nothing stuck out as exemplary about the story.

All in all, it’s been a good few days of reading, and I’m happy to have found so many new books in the past few weeks.

