Puppies! I’ve decided my next thing is books with dogs on them/books about dogs. I won’t be reading them back to back like the books about books thing, but they’ll be close. I already started with Lily and the Octopus, which was amazing! I homed in on another owner/dog memoir for the next book.

image

Surviving Henry: Adventures in Loving a Canine Catastrophe by Erin Taylor Young was underwhelming, I’m sad to say. There were some cute moments and some wow ones, but the dog wasn’t nearly as crazy as I expected based on the title and the blurb on the back cover. I don’t really have any stand out stories of hilarity or way over-the-top-ness to mention. The window one was weird and scary, but it wasn’t too far outside the normal spectrum of animal crazy. Maybe this is because the show Bad Dog on Animal Planet has desensitized me, but there it is.

The author’s impatience and lack of love for the dog were palpable. Her impatience was making me impatient with the book. This might also be my own hang up because any fuzzy thing immediately gains my love no matter how rowdy it is. I understand being frustrated with a pooch too, but for most of the book, she discussed the dog as an obligation rather than an animal she cared about. The last page, however, redeems the book and the author.

The book ends on a happy note with some good insights about patience and God’s plan. My frustration eased up after that last page.

It was a quick easy read and not a bad book to spend a Saturday with. It had some good quotes too, so I’ll end with a couple.

“The most reasonable plan always has a flaw.”
“Riger mortis has nothing on that dog’s locked legs.” I relate to this quote so hard.

Shout out to Toby for being a blog model again.

