Where no book has gone before…

THIS WAS AN AWESOME STAR TREK NOVEL!

Okay…calmly…

I found this novel enjoyable. Vonda N. McIntyre really dug into the characters with her story. She presents an emotional Kirk instead of the one dimensional sexy Kirk (I love him. Don’t get me wrong, but it was a nice change). She gave Sulu a love life, career ambition, and a MUSTACHE. She shows you a Spock pushing himself to his absolute limit.

The story could have went in so many different directions after the set-up, and she went in an unpredictable one. The writing and the story were exciting and fast-paced. The novel had some complicated ideas, but the writing didn’t falter or contradict. I was fully invested in the story and was up until 2 a.m. finishing it.

I have so, so many Star Trek novels. If I decide to get rid of some, this will not be one I let go of.

