image

Is anyone surprised that my first book after finishing the books about books thing was an Arthur C. Clarke novel? If you are, you clearly haven’t read my other blog posts or talked to me for any length of time.

So I dove (ha, puns) into The Deep Range by Arthur C. Clarke. It’s another of his books about ocean exploration. I must admit I did not like this one as much as Dolphin Island, but it was still an enjoyable book. This novel is much different than Clarke’s other novels that I’ve read so far because it chronicles all of the major events of Walter Franklin’s life rather than focusing on one event. This storytelling method is unique, and I can’t think of another novel that uses it. It made it a little harder to read quickly, but I must remind myself that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I have a terrible habit of racing myself when it comes to books. The book was much more about life experience and analyzing how professional and family life combine and change a person than it was about action or human race issues, which are things I normally expect from Clarke. The book does a really good job of helping you get to know a character and understand his ideas and motivations. If I had to categorize it, I would probably call it a character study, but I’m not sure it can be classified so easily. I don’t know if I’ll read it again, but I wouldn’t tell someone not to read it. If you like reading about people or ocean exploration, I highly recommend it. If you like Clarke, go for it.

