image

So I did decide to reread The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly. I’m glad I did because it reminded that it’s one of my favorite books of all time. I stayed up late to finish it, even though I knew the end and had to be up early. As you can see from the picture, I wore out my bed mate with the late reading.

The book begins with David who shares a love of books with his mother, and he begins hearing the books speak soon after she dies. A series of strange and mystical things continue to happen to David before he sets out on an amazing adventure. The story opens and closes in a superb narrative circle.

This book is what happens when Narnia and Grimm’s fairy tales collide. It’s dark, funny, and heartwarming. The hero is great because he is realistic with a full range of emotions and activities, including even a scene where he goes to the bathroom (if there is a way to get more realistic, I don’t know what it is).

The story could be read literally and work as a simple and fun story. However, it could also be interpreted as a lesson about battling and accepting your own emotions and growing up. This book is a truly beautiful and creative work. I think I liked it even more on a second reading, and I hope I will love it more every time I read it again.

Obviously, I would give this a five out of five. I don’t even have any faults to name. I will definitely be reading more Connolly, and I think you should read this one.

