Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blogging challenge created by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s a fun way to get yourself thinking about books in different ways. Try it out for yourself. Read the details here.

For May 31, the prompt is “Beach Reads Week — top ten great beach reads, ten books I plan to read on the beach, ten beach reads for those who don’t like typical ~beach reads~, ten authors who are my go-to for beach reads, etc.”

I’ve never understood the whole concept of “beach reads” and why they would be different from what one normally reads. Maybe because I don’t have a beach to read on? So I thought maybe books you read outside. Well, that doesn’t work either because for me that’s all books. I guess “beach reads” for me is just stuff I like to read, but I’ll try to make a list anyway.

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I’ll read this anytime and anywhere.
  2. Mitch Albom’s books. If the point of a beach read is to read something in one sitting while you’re on the beach, Albom’s books would be great.
  3. Hector and the Search for Happiness by Francois Lelord. Same thing as the Mitch Albom books for timing, and this story is delightful.
  4. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll. When are these ever a bad choice?
  5. Arthur C. Clarke’s books. If I can put him on every list, I will.
  6. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling. My go to happy book has to be good for the beach, right?
  7. The Smitten, Vermont books by Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, and Denise Hunter. They’re novels divided into novellas with each author writing a story focusing on one character each. The stories were short, romantic, and fun in Smitten Book Club, and I bet the other two are just as great.
  8. Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare. My favorite Shakespeare comedy would be infinitely relaxing and entertaining.
  9. Star Trek novels. I have a billion. They’re small and easy to carry, and there is no way to go wrong with science fiction and Spock.
  10. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Another favorite fun book.

So I guess my definition of a beach read is books that make me happy. I will probably never read on a beach because I go to them so very rarely, but hey, I’ll know what to take with me if I do.

 

