Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly reading challenge created by The Broke and The Bookish. Read more about it here. This challenge is a little more difficult than others because I’m pretty stubborn and rarely change my mind about books. But here is my top ten (ish) books I’ve changed my mind about.

1. Harry Potter. That’s right. I didn’t like Harry Potter at first. In fact, I distinctly remember being angry that my babysitter insisted on taking me to the movie because she and her daughter refused to miss out on opening night, even with a tiny butt face guest. It was actually that movie, the first one, that changed my mind. After the movie, I grudgingly admitted that I wanted to revisit the books about the boy wizard and got out the two my dad had brought home several weeks before. How could I have started disliking Potter, you ask? Simple. 5th grade.

I guess I could give you a little more information. I was introduced to Harry Potter in my 5th grade class when our teacher started reading it out loud to us. There was nothing wrong with her reading; I was actually pretty fond of this teacher, so this wasn’t even about any ill will towards her. It was the simple fact that I was a scatter brained, bored butt face. I loved reading! When I was doing the reading. When my eyes were distracted by the words, it was incredibly easy for my brain to start making the inner movie that comes with reading. But if someone was reading to me, there was a whole world for my eyes to drink in, and it was nearly impossible to get that movie going. Because I couldn’t focus, I assumed the story was boring. It probably doesn’t help that she stopped before the good stuff. She may have only read two chapters. So when I left that movie theater several months later after learning Harry is a wizard and goes to wizard school, I was fully invested and began to blaze through the books as quickly as possible. The first four were out, and I read them until my eyes couldn’t stay open. Then I woke up and started right back into the book. I read them everywhere while doing everything. The only place they didn’t go was the shower, but they would have if I could have found a way.

2. Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man. Every time I have read this my opinion has changed. I went from “what even is this insanity?” to “this James Joyce fellow isn’t all bad” to “this is pretty dang brilliant.” Who knows what it will be next time?

3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. If any of my friends who adore this book are reading this, don’t start cheering yet. I still don’t like it. I still think the ending is the worst ever. I still think Rochester is a murdering crazy pants. However, Charlotte Bronte did, in fact, create English major Disneyland as Dr. Shea calls it. The book is dense and has a lot packed in there about history, womanhood, and identity. The thing is impressive, but I’m still never going to love it.

4. Romeo and Juliet. Yes, Shakespeare is on this list and not for a good reason. I wasn’t impressed with this play when we read and watched it in high school, and that meh feeling has turned into outright dislike that keeps getting stronger. I don’t know what it is, but I can’t stand this play in any of its incarnations (including West Side Story). It just makes me angry.

5. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I was very unfair to this book. I was reluctant to ever read it because I remember not liking the movie as a kid. I was quite a logical butthead as a child, and I fought illogical things pretty hard. When I actually picked up Lewis Carroll’s book and had a little more knowledge about literature, I found one of my favorite stories. As an older and more open minded butthead, I was able to appreciate why the story was illogical and silly. I also decided to give the movie another chance after reading the book, and I ended up loving it too.

6. The Scarlet Letter. It didn’t take very long to find another one to add. Approximately one minute after I published this list through number 5. I scrolled through some old posts and found Power Reading. In that post, I talked about how I wish someone had told me to skip the Customs House section and just get to the story because the story is freaking amazing. This book is one of my favorites now, and I have a large Nathaniel Hawthorne pile waiting to be read because of it. Great stuff! Skip the Customs House.

These are what I have for now. I might add more throughout the day, but nothing is coming to mind. There’s a lot of books in my head, and it’s fun sifting through them all and how I feel about them.

