Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog challenge created by The Broke and the Bookish. Read more about it here. It’s fun, and I recommend you try it out on your blog.

Here’s my list of “Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim”:

  1. The Paradise by Emile Zola. I finished this book today. I was scrolling through the online clearance section of Barnes and Noble because someone gave me a gift card. This one intrigued me, and then I saw it was made into a show. Yay for new books and shows!
  2. The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly. I bought this because it was pretty. Great decision!
  3. Ian Fleming’s James Bond series. I thought, “hmm, the movies are super awesome; I bet the books are too.” I was right.
  4. 2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke. I saw it at the library book sale and was intrigued because who hasn’t heard of the film? I ended up discovering one of my very favorite authors.
  5. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. This is a collection of all five books in the series, and I freaking devoured it. This series is so funny. I love it.
  6. The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom. Another book that introduced me to one of my favorite authors. This book is still my favorite of his, but all of them are spectacular.
  7. Across the Universe by Beth Revis. Book one in a fantastic trilogy. I was walking through my campus library one day, and for some reason, this book caught my attention. Its cover and then its title intrigued me, so I checked it out right away.
  8. Born of Persuasion by Jessica Dotta. Another book one of a great trilogy. This showed up on my Kindle, but I don’t remember how. I haven’t read the third one yet, and I’m so excited to see how the story ends!
  9. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. I also grabbed this by strolling through the library. I listened to the audiobook rather than reading it, and it was read amazingly well. This book is quite long for an audiobook, but I was interested throughout. This was my first adventure with Neil Gaiman, and it was totally awesome.
  10. Young Romantics: The Tangled Lives of English Poetry’s Greatest Generation by Daisy Hay. This book is an impressive biography of the big six in Romantic poetry. It’s really well researched and entertaining to read. A truly impressive addition to the biography genre.
