Jenny Lawson is a blogger (The Bloggess) and author. I wrote about Furiously Happy in another post, but the internet ate it, which is unfortunate because I thought it was my best post so far. Alas, it is gone, so I will talk about both books here.

Both books are hilarious because of Lawson’s expert dry humor delivery. I chuckled and out right laughed out loud several times while reading both books. Not only are they funny, but they are also incredibly insightful and heartwarming. The memoirs are well balanced between humor and serious insights about life.

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

2016-05-10-15.21.13.jpg.jpg

“In rural Texas pretty much everyone has a gun cabinet. Unless they’re gay. Then they have gun armoires.” Boom. Funny.

“High school is life’s way of giving you a record low to judge the rest of your life by.” Boom. Real talk.

Lawson really lays it all out there and captures stunningly well what it’s like to have anxiety attacks in public places. She’s also very insightful about different aspects of life we all go through, such as losing your dog or being a mom. Her straightforward attitude and stream of consciousness writing style combine shockingly well to create prose that makes her ridiculous situations understandable and relatable. Some of her stories really are way out next to Pluto, but they are still recognizable as relatable moments.

The Making Friends with Girls chapter was my favorite because it was all about adult growing up. People that think they stop growing up at 18 are ridiculous. There are a billion more lessons to learn for everyone. Her chapter about making friends is one lesson I identify with well because it is one I’ve been going through as a “grown up.”

Furiously Happy

2016-04-28 19.11.33

In my last post about this, I had a ton of quotes that I loved, but I turned the book back in to the library unfortunately. All the quotes went with it because I didn’t write them down. Failure.

Everything I said about the last book applies here. I will add that this book was a lot smoother and showed Lawson’s unique voice much better. Sometimes the exact opposite happens, and authors end up getting worse after their first book does really well. I’m happy to report that this is not the case with Lawson. Furiously Happy will make you furiously happy because it is just that dang good. This book is more open, more real, and more funny.

Plus this is a thing that gets explained:

2016-04-28 19.12.33

Read both. They’re amazing. (Warning: They do contain explicit language, but don’t let that deter you). I plan on buying my own copy of Furiously Happy, so that I can revisit both. Both books show that the abnormal is normal. Everyone has a different story, and they’re all equally awesome.

