It’s National Library Week! Yay libraries! To celebrate, I tried to read a library.

Not really. I’ve been preparing for my comprehensive exam in English, and I’ve had to power read through a lot of material, and I still have a lot to go. So what have I been reading?

20160414_181356

Bam. Lots of stuff. Since last Wednesday, I have read…

Pride and Prejudice: It is a truth universally acknowledged that this book is so amazing I had zero problem with reading the entire thing in one day. It’s possibly the 9th time I’ve read it.

Next came some poems from John Keats: “On First Looking into Chapman’s Homer” is my favorite sonnet, and I read over it a few times. “The Eve of St. Agnes” is delightfully creepy as always. I read a couple odes too, and you can never go wrong with a good ode (Keats’s are very good).

Frankenstein: If you read my last post, I think you know how pumped I am about Frankenstein. This book…just read it.

Feminist theory: I didn’t read all of How to Interpret Literature this week, but I was reading the feminist theory chapter, which I paired with the feminist article in the critical edition of Frankenstein mentioned above (then I got in an argument with the book. We’re sleeping in separate rooms now. It’s heartbreaking). I’ll be soaking the rest of theory in this weekend.

Edgar Allan Poe: Who doesn’t love Poe? If it’s you, get out. For this go-around with Poe, I listened to the stories. If you’re going to do audio books, I recommend good readings of Poe stories. Some of them are so spectacularly creepy. I found this one of “The Cask of Amontialldo” that was spine tingly and awesome.

Sula: This novel was assigned for my African American Literature class this week, and it was…interesting. Toni Morrison is not at all the writer I expected her to be; from the covers to the types of people I normally see reading/talking about her novels, I thought the writing would be really girly and flowery, but this was brutal. It was about death, war, betrayal, sex, disillusionment, and a lot of other rather upsetting things. It was a shock, but a good one.

Romantic poetry: I set John Keats by himself because he’s the one I’m choosing to focus on because I know him best, but I’ve also read some Charlotte Smith, William and Dorothy Wordsworth (siblings, not a couple; blew my mind when I found out), Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Percy Bysshe Shelley (every time I see it written P.B. Shelley I sing peanut butter Shelley time), and Lord Byron (more like Lord Ego, amiright?). But I read these ladies and fellas out of my nearly loved to death copy of the Norton Anthology Romantic Era volume. It’s written all over and highlighted with some pages ripped, and the spine is bent. I LOVE that book, and it will live on my shelf forever.

The Scarlet Letter: Last because I am still finishing it and not because it’s least. I will be finishing it today for the 3rd time in the past year. This book is amazing. I wish that whoever told me to read it in high school had told me to skip that awful Customs House part in the beginning because it is dreadfully boring, and I don’t know why Hawthorne insisted on keeping it. If I had skipped that part, I would have probably finished the thing then, and I could have loved it all these years. The story itself has so much to offer; there’s sassy writing and supernatural stuff and relationship intrigue and a strong independent woman who don’t need no man. What else could a reader ask for? I’m sure many of you have been told that the book is only all about “adultery is bad.” It’s not. That’s not even close. It is a fun read and a quick one. If you haven’t read it, you definitely should.

Power reading at its finest.

