If you read my post about Hector’s Journeys, this post is probably not a surprise to you. In case you did not see it, here’s how I met Hector.

I was searching Simon Pegg on Netflix (I do it a lot. My love for his movies knows no bounds), and I came across Hector and the Search for Happiness. The description said something like the movie is about a psychiatrist who travels around the world looking for happiness. This sounded quirky and intriguing, plus Simon Pegg, so I pressed play. I LOVE this movie. The description is exactly what happens. All of the actors did a great job. The film is funny, emotional, and original.

Then it got better, and the beautiful phrase “based on the book” appeared. The novel is by Francois Lelord, whom I had never heard of. I loved the movie so much I immediately ordered it from Amazon and started reading it right away when it arrived.

There are differences in the story between the two platforms as can be expected from book to screen adaptations, but I think the changes worked very well in this case. The changes were mostly made for time restrictions, and they made them without creating plot holes. The movie even had the same kind of fable-like feel that Lelord wrote the books with.

For this pairing, I must honestly call it a draw. Both versions are delightful and worth revisiting many times over.

