I found this delightful questionnaire on https://nordie.wordpress.com/ (a fun blog I found this morning), and they found the original questions on Pretty Purple Polka Dots.

Would you rather…

1. Read only trilogies or stand alone stories?

I don’t have a preference on this one. I enjoy both. I love a series if it’s consistent and fun through all of the books, but there is something truly impressive about a story tied up neatly in one book.

2. Read only male or female authors?

The only time the man versus woman question has occurred to me when it comes to authors was when I started reading through the list for my comprehensive exam. My professors have introduced me to some amazing female authors over the years, and I did not get to know the guys well. I took a class called Jane Austen’s bookshelf that traced female novelists (Aphra Behn, Frances Burney, Eliza Haywood, and others) leading up to Austen, and I was blown away by every book. Then I started reading some of the male novelists spanning the same years (Daniel Defoe, Jonathan Swift, Charles Dickens), and I was completely…underwhelmed. They couldn’t hold a candle to the ladies! With older novels, I will favor the woman almost every time, but with more modern stories, it’s a toss up.

3. Shop at bookshops or Amazon?

If I’m looking for a specific book that I want immediately, I go to Amazon. I also use Amazon to store my book wishlist. If I want to browse or get a few books in one go, I shop in an actual store. Unfortunately, there is not a used bookstore where I live, so my store trip is usually one big trip to trade some stuff in at McKay’s about 45 minutes from where I live.

4. All books become films or TV shows?

 

That depends entirely on the book. Of course, I usually prefer when books/series become a TV show because I can’t get enough of it. However, there are some really great book to film adaptations.

5. Read five pages a day or five books a week?

I would rather read five books in a week, and when my time is my own, I usually do.

6. Be a professional reviewer or author?

Definitely a reviewer. I am the worst author. I do well with academic writing, but please don’t ask me to write fiction. You will cry for all the wrong reasons when you read it.

7. Only read your top 20 books, or only ever read new books?

I think I would stick with my top 20. I can’t imagine a world where I gave up Pride and Prejudice and Harry Potter.

8. Be a librarian or a book seller?

If you know me, you know the answer to this one. I’m going to school to be a librarian! Although, a book seller is a great second choice.

9. Only read your favourite genre, or read every genre except your favourite?

This survey is rude, and this question is hard. I think I would pick the second choice. I feel like I should buy science fiction flowers and chocolates to apologize for saying that.

10. Only read physical books or only read e books?

Easy. Physical books. My poor eyes can’t handle eBooks for very long, and I would go crazy holding a piece of technology for that long. Plus how would I deal with sun glare? No thank you.

*The featured image came from http://bibliolectors.tumblr.com/. I picked it simply because it’s pretty.

