Like many bookworms, I love movie adaptations. Unlike many bookworms, however, I do not believe that the book is ALWAYS better than the movie. Most of the time I truly enjoy both and see true merit in both platforms. Other times I am divided, and I get a kick out of debating which medium told the story better. I decided this would be a good topic for a blog series, so here is the start.

The Notebook (cue swooning)

The Notebook
Not my picture*

First off, great freaking story. This statement may confuse some who know me/have read my earlier posts because I’ve been known to say “I don’t like romance stories.” That’s true; bodice rippers are weird, and I don’t want to read 50 pages of a single sexual encounter. I definitely do not want to read an entire book with 50 50 page encounters. Please no. BUT I do like stories about love: romantic, platonic, or familial; often these stories dig deep into human nature, and I like that. So yes, I think The Notebook is a spectacular story.

I watched the movie first, and I liked it so much I had to read the book (This happens a lot).  As I read the book, I was quite pleased that the stories lined up well in both versions. Both mediums kept the oh so important frame story (love ’em). The book had a little more detail as I expected it would. I was certain I was on the way to having another book/movie combination to revisit a million times before I die.

Wrong.

The love for both versions stayed strong until the last page of the book. SPOILERS. The movie ends beautifully with Allie recognizing Noah and the two of them peacefully drifting into sleep and then the afterlife together. Seriously moving love happening. How does the book end? Bodice ripping. Well technically, it ends with shirt unbuttoning, but drama is important in writing. Bodice Ripping. The book doesn’t go into details; it just ends with Allie recognizing Noah and then reaching to unbutton his shirt, so oversharing is not the problem. The problem is the completely implausible, irresponsible idea of them getting groovy when Allie can relapse at any moment (something she’s already done in the very same chapter). This simple thing took me out of the beauty of the story and made me more worried about the effects on both of them than thinking about the beauty of their love overcoming every problem thrown their way. A story must be believable, and after reading about Noah’s devotion to Allie in such detail, I cannot believe that he would allow himself to put her into a potentially emotionally stressful situation.

Undoubtedly for me, the movie version of The Notebook takes the crown.

*I got the picture from this blog poast asking about opinions on a bunch of book/movie combinations. http://kaysbestintentions.blogspot.com/2013/08/never-judge-book-by-its-movie.html

