Let’s chat about The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry. You may recognize this novel from my last post. After I posted a photo of the OwlCrate for February, I figured I might as well read the other book that came with it. That was a great choice.

Here’s the description from the dust jacket/Goodreads: “Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start…until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.

That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.”

I would have summarized it myself, but I would have ruined it for you all because I’m bad at spoilers. Or does giving them make me good at them?

Now here’s my spiel. This book was too legit to quit, and I finished the whopping 390 pages in a day and a half. Based on the above description, I would not have picked this book up on my own. Shame on me. Romance is not my thing, but we should all step out of our comfort zones every so often; this novel is solid proof of that. Henry molds this story using a mix of Native American and Christian stories, science fiction, and, of course, love. That may seem like a bit much, but it comes together beautifully. I figured out what was going on fairly quickly, but that did not make me want to stop reading. I may have figured out what was going on, but I could not guess how or the outcome. It just made me more curious, and I was rewarded for said curiosity.

The novel focuses on many different kinds of love, self knowledge, and the bitter-sweetness of moving on to a new stage in life, topics I would say are appropriate for any age. This novel was Henry’s debut novel, which makes it even more impressive to me, and I can’t wait to see what else she puts out there.

